Interesting Writings on Writing and Publishing

Lot going on here and in about three, four weeks, I’m going to be making some changes to the blog, but until then, have some more links! These are about writing fiction, book publishing and SFFH media:

Author Ferrett Steinmetz talks about selling his novel.

Lauren Davis talks about the perils of genre shaming readers and writers.

Maya Kaathryn Bohnhoff talks about issues in critiquing people’s writing.

Mary Robinette Kowal talks about turning off your inner editor when writing.

An article on award-winning SF author Ann Leckie, her novel Ancillary Justice and its impact in the field. (I quite liked Ancillary Justice — more on that later.)

Ask a Game Developer explains what it is important to focus on in higher education if you want to get into games development.

Gwenda Bond explains quite simply about fiction being a symbiotic market for authors and how you should concentrate on your own career in fiction.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under book publishing, SFFH, Technology, Writing

2 responses to “Interesting Writings on Writing and Publishing

  1. Hi–Just wanted to tell you how much I appreciated your post at John Scalzi’s blog re: the Amazon/Hachette debate. I *knew* you had to be someone with a background in the publishing industry–glad to see my intuition was right. I’m a former NY “big house” author, now a small press publisher, and I spent a lot of time reading those debate comments while yanking at my hair in frustration. You saved some of my ‘do. Thank you!

    • Yeah, it’s wild, right? (I have some Amazon situation links; just haven’t put them up yet.) I’ve heard of you and I was curious to hear about your small press experiences. We’ve been hearing a lot of good news/bad news on that front. I know Amazon is pretty tough on small presses. The funny thing is, my husband has a Kindle, just bought the new John Sandford novel for the premium price — he felt it was low, lol. There’s a lot of carryover on this from the early e-books should all be 99 cents days back in 2008. The made-up math then was way worse. :)

Leave a Reply

